Irish Crime Fiction

Attended my first meeting of the Irish Crime Fiction group last Friday. I was humming and hawing about going beforehand – the usual putting yourself and your work down – but eventually said, f*** it, go! Glad I did. A really nice group of people, including published authors Laurence O’Bryan http://lpobryan.com/ of the Istanbul Puzzle fame

Istanbul Puzzle

and Louise Phillips http://www.louise-phillips.com/ fresh from a frenzied week for her with the publication of her debut novel Red Ribbons.

Red Ribbons

People read a short piece of writing they had done. I was very nervous, but did my piece, which people seemed to like, with comments like ‘gritty’, ‘good dialogue’.  There was also constructive criticism, which you really need. I was on a bit of a high afterwards. It gives you that little confidence boost you need, because I regularly (but, no longer, always) doubt my work.

So, I have got up early the last two days and have written a few chapters. Look forward to the next meet up.

PS. There was an amazing amount of food at the meeting, which I didn’t expect. Loads of cake and buns particularly, including some gorgeous macaroons. A nice incentive to write!

About Cormac O'Keeffe

I am writing my first novel. Still. Well, I've finished it. I think. To tell you the truth, I've finished it so many times, I'm not sure anymore. In fact, I'm currently back finishing it again. It's a crime novel, an authentic gangland thriller set in Dublin. Including all the finishing, I've been at it for almost six years now. I've got a fair bit of good feedback and some requests for full manuscripts. But no one was bitten, yet. Where it will end up, who knows. This blog is about my journey. And other things, like fiction reviews and non-fiction reviews, many of them published in the Irish Examiner, a daily national newspaper in Ireland. I work as crime and drugs reporter there, and have been since around 2001. Both my personal life and my professional life have fed into my novel, or, rather, have poured into it. My novel was granted a literature bursary by the Irish Arts Council in September 2014 and my journalistic work has won multiple awards from the Law Society of Ireland over many years, most recently in 2015.
This entry was posted in My Novel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Irish Crime Fiction

  1. Susan Condon says:

    Glad you joined the newly formed Irish Crime Fiction group and look forward to hearing more of your novel. See you next month, Cormac.

  2. Conall Ó Fátharta says:

    I didn’t know you were writing a novel Cormac. Fair play!I’m thinking of the same, but in the non-fiction/hack variety…too daunting to think about!

  3. Conall Ó Fátharta says:

    So a book rather than a novel…that’s what I mean!

Leave a Reply

