No need to call Max von Sydow

Plans to write again this morning didn’t look good at 3.50am. The little missus had erupted into one of her scary ‘night terrors’.

For those who don’t know, it’s a suped-up nightmare acted out where the child is like the girl from the Exorcist and roars, screams, bangs and hits, scaring the living daylights out of you and waking up the neighbours.

 

Any attempt to talk to her throws fuel on the fire. She did, after a while settle down, without having to call Max von Sydow. But previous experience told me, if you are ripped out of your bed during the night, it’s hard to get up early. The only exception is if you can’t get back to sleep! I was somewhere in between and rose at 6.10am and got into work by roughly 7.20am or so.

I did about 1.30-1.45 hours of writing, which is good and banged out 1,600 words, which I’m happy with. Actually felt some of that adrenaline buzz I’ve got before when I’ve taken days off and hammered out bucket loads – and that’s a while ago. I feel I’ve progressed the plot a bit (partially by jumping over events) and can now see myself returning to my other characters, dusting them down and re-entering their heads. Doesn’t sound pleasant saying it like that!

Looks like a busy day at work again. I can feel another strong coffee calling.

About Cormac O'Keeffe

I am writing my first novel. It's a crime novel, a thriller set in Dublin's gangland, along the evocative Grand Canal. This blog is about that bumpy journey. And other things, like fiction reviews and non-fiction reviews, many of them published in the Irish Examiner, a daily national newspaper in Ireland. I work as crime and drugs reporter there, and have been since around 2001. Both my personal life and my professional life have fed into my novel, or, rather, have been poured into it. My novel was granted a literature bursary by the Irish Arts Council in September 2014 and my journalistic work has won multiple awards from the Law Society of Ireland over many years, most recently in 2015.
This entry was posted in My Novel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

