The End in Sight

It’s a while since I blogged, but I haven’t just been scratching my proverbial. I actually banged out 14,000 words over two and a half days at the beginning of last week. That was thanks to a trip back to my Ma’s house. I left my poor wife at home to look after the two kids by herself. Bad husband! Seriously, this is the only way I can get a substantial amount of writing done.

I read one of the chapters I wrote to the Irish Crime Fiction group last Friday and people seemed to like it. This is great encouragement. I do have to work on a number of things though, including my passive voice and not burying the real meat in the chapter. The group is very good and there was only a handful of us the last day which allowed more time to read and more opportunity for discussion. It was only my second time going, so it’s taking time to settle in and get to know various people.

With the work I did last week I can see the end of the book in sight. I have roughly two chapters per character (three characters) yet to do, then the climax scene and a chapter or two for the resolution. That’s a bit exciting, although I have a mountain of work do to afterwards in terms of properly structuring my book and the various rewrites and editing.

I haven’t been able to write much the last three days as the little missus has been sick and I haven’t got much sleep and am a bit cratchety. Hopefully, I’ll be able to do a couple of hours later in the week.

In the meantime, there’s a reading by crime writers Arlene Hunt and Declan Burke on Tuesday night in the Irish Writers’ Centre. I might pop along to see how it’s really done. http://www.writerscentre.ie/

By for now.

About Cormac O'Keeffe

I am writing my first novel. It's a crime novel, a thriller set in Dublin's gangland, along the evocative Grand Canal. This blog is about that bumpy journey. And other things, like fiction reviews and non-fiction reviews, many of them published in the Irish Examiner, a daily national newspaper in Ireland. I work as crime and drugs reporter there, and have been since around 2001. Both my personal life and my professional life have fed into my novel, or, rather, have been poured into it. My novel was granted a literature bursary by the Irish Arts Council in September 2014 and my journalistic work has won multiple awards from the Law Society of Ireland over many years, most recently in 2015.
This entry was posted in My Novel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The End in Sight

  1. Congratulations on nearing the finishing line. Watch out for those edits though, they take almost as much time as writing the thing in the first place 🙂

Leave a Reply

