Scratching down the words

Banged out 2,500 words in the last two mornings before work. Happy with that. Quantity there for sure. Some quality too, but it is a bit inconsistent, with some good parts, interspersed with some flat sections. Plenty of work to do on rewrites!

As I’ve mentioned before, I’m not far from the end. But that is the end of a very rough, unstructured, first draft. I probably shouldn’t call it a first draft. Whatever it is, I want it done before the end of the year, so I can read through what I have, put a structure to it and start the rewrites as well as any research I have to do.

I’m not sure if I’ll get a chance to write again this week. It’s always hard picking it up after days, or even a week, has passed.

Best of luck to all struggling writers and artists out there.

About Cormac O'Keeffe

I am writing my first novel. It's a crime novel, a thriller set in Dublin's gangland, along the evocative Grand Canal. This blog is about that bumpy journey. And other things, like fiction reviews and non-fiction reviews, many of them published in the Irish Examiner, a daily national newspaper in Ireland. I work as crime and drugs reporter there, and have been since around 2001. Both my personal life and my professional life have fed into my novel, or, rather, have been poured into it. My novel was granted a literature bursary by the Irish Arts Council in September 2014 and my journalistic work has won multiple awards from the Law Society of Ireland over many years, most recently in 2015.
This entry was posted in My Novel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Scratching down the words

  1. jjtoner says:

    Hi Cormac. I wondered what hardware/software you’re using to write and put your book together. I downloaded Scrivener (for PC) this week, and it struck me that it could be just what you need to help with structuring your book. Or you could do it the old-fashioned way of course 🙂 I blogged about it here http://jjtoner.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

