EU drugs agency

The EU’s drugs agency published its annual report – and the usual raft of other mini-reports – last week in Lisbon.

The European Monitoring Centre for Drugs and Drug Addiction (to give its needlessly long name) produces excellent research and adds to its authority every year.

Emcdda is probably little known outside the ‘drugs bubble’ of researchers, health experts, treatment bodies, relevant government/EU departments and a small circle of journalists. But the influence of the work it is producing is having wider and deeper impact. And the drugs issue is one area where the role of the EU is set to grow.

Their website http://www.emcdda.europa.eu/ is a great source for anyone interested in the area.

I wrote three stories about the annual report for the Irish Examiner, two of which were published.

The first is on Ireland’s rating as one of the top users of synthetic drugs in the EU and the scale of the problem facing Europe from an increasing array of substances, many of them containing a mixture of drugs and/or unknown substances. http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/levels-of-abuse-of-new-synthetic-drugs-alarming-214143.html

Second story concerns the mushrooming (sorry!) of cannabis factories across Europe, including Ireland, where they are being uncovered every second or third day it seems..http://www.irishexaminer.com/text/ireland/cwkfeykfeycw/

About Cormac O'Keeffe

I am writing my first novel. Still. Well, I've finished it. I think. To tell you the truth, I've finished it so many times, I'm not sure anymore. In fact, I'm currently back finishing it again. It's a crime novel, an authentic gangland thriller set in Dublin. Including all the finishing, I've been at it for almost six years now. I've got a fair bit of good feedback and some requests for full manuscripts. But no one was bitten, yet. Where it will end up, who knows. This blog is about my journey. And other things, like fiction reviews and non-fiction reviews, many of them published in the Irish Examiner, a daily national newspaper in Ireland. I work as crime and drugs reporter there, and have been since around 2001. Both my personal life and my professional life have fed into my novel, or, rather, have poured into it. My novel was granted a literature bursary by the Irish Arts Council in September 2014 and my journalistic work has won multiple awards from the Law Society of Ireland over many years, most recently in 2015.
This entry was posted in Drug Reporting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

