Ploughing on

I’ve made some progress on my novel since my last post about it (7 Nov). As I said back then, I had to go back to the drawing board. I am reasonably happy, but not convinced, I’ve come up with an alternative plot line to the one I felt I had to abandon.

I have carved out five chapters in the last couple of weeks. As always, getting time is hard. I was up at 5.30am today and in work by 6.45am. I worked till about 9.20am, excluding coffee and scone! So happy with that.

I reckon I have around 6-8 chapters to do. I am enjoying it, but it is a bit like ploughing a field by hand – not that I have ever done that and am sure it’s far harder.

About Cormac O'Keeffe

I am writing my first novel. It's a crime novel, a thriller set in Dublin's gangland, along the evocative Grand Canal. This blog is about my journey. And other things, like fiction reviews and non-fiction reviews, many of them published in the Irish Examiner, a daily national newspaper in Ireland. I work as crime and drugs reporter there, and have been since around 2001. Both my personal life and my professional life have fed into my novel, or, rather, have poured into it. My novel was granted a literature bursary by the Irish Arts Council in September 2014 and my journalistic work has won multiple awards from the Law Society of Ireland over many years, most recently in 2015.
This entry was posted in My Novel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

