Crawling to the line

It feels like a crawl at times, but I’ve managed to do almost 1,700 words this morning. It leaves me with 4-5 chapters left on my first draft.

I haven’t been able to write in recent weeks – it being Xmas ‘en all – and have been a bit (more) crotchety of late as a result. I planned to get up this morning to write and couldn’t sleep last night with the intensity of the thoughts swirling around my head. I managed to get up after 6 and went into work early.

I hoped to finish my first draft by year end. That’s not going to happen, but I won’t be far off. I am excited at the prospect. I know a lot of work lies ahead with the large number of edits and additional research I have to do.

Any thoughts out there on what would be a reasonable deadline to set for organising your novel into a proper structure, checking research and conducting the edits?

About Cormac O'Keeffe

I am writing my first novel. Still. Well, I've finished it. I think. To tell you the truth, I've finished it so many times, I'm not sure anymore. In fact, I'm currently back finishing it again. It's a crime novel, an authentic gangland thriller set in Dublin. Including all the finishing, I've been at it for almost six years now. I've got a fair bit of good feedback and some requests for full manuscripts. But no one was bitten, yet. Where it will end up, who knows. This blog is about my journey. And other things, like fiction reviews and non-fiction reviews, many of them published in the Irish Examiner, a daily national newspaper in Ireland. I work as crime and drugs reporter there, and have been since around 2001. Both my personal life and my professional life have fed into my novel, or, rather, have poured into it. My novel was granted a literature bursary by the Irish Arts Council in September 2014 and my journalistic work has won multiple awards from the Law Society of Ireland over many years, most recently in 2015.
This entry was posted in My Novel, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Crawling to the line

  1. That’s a how long is a piece of string question, Cormac. I think you should be proud that you are moving things forward again and rely on your ability to carve out time for writing to answer that question. All the best for the new year and I look forward to seeing you at a meet up.

Leave a Reply

