Vorsprung durch Technik

The icy winds of austerity are tearing strips off Government and EU dignitaries if what’s happening in Farmleigh, Phoenix Park, is anything to go by.

audi5

I was out in Farmleigh with my the family on Saturday having a little picnic. Me and my wife tried to avoid discussing how we were going to pay our massive electricity and gas bills. Instead I ran up a little hill with one of the kids. Down the far side, the old public car park was packed with seriously cool motors. There was a little cluster of people down there who I thought might be security or something.

Audi

Down we rambled. What an impressive sight: ranks of brand new, 131 reg Audi A6 TDIs, all to shuttle EU government dignitaries for the six-month Irish rotation of the EU Presidency. Truly impressive beasts, with appropriately luxurious interiors.

The group I saw huddled were not security in fact, but other stunned and bemused people. Amazingly, there was no physical security there, although there were cameras, linked to security at the main gate I presume.

Audi3

Now, the Audis have obviously not been bought by the Irish Gov and are, in fact, part of a sponsorship deal with a number of companies (all contracts worth total 1.4m euro) http://www.eu2013.ie/news/news-items/presidencysponsors/

The optics of it all are not the best. This was all commented upon by different groups of people I chatted with there – displaying typical Irish black humour mixed with weary resignation.

As the full force of the budget kicks in, the already-mentioned huge utility bills and higher charges of one sort or another, stumbling across the assembled Audis (handsome as they are) is not what the doctor ordered for rising blood pressure, ulcers and so on. On the same day, the lead story in the Irish Examiner was this http://www.irishexaminer.com/ireland/families-pushed-to-brink-as-hikes-kick-in-218710.html

Well, you know what they say. Vorsprung durch Technik.

About Cormac O'Keeffe

I am writing my first novel. It's a crime novel, a thriller set in Dublin's gangland, along the evocative Grand Canal. This blog is about that bumpy journey. And other things, like fiction reviews and non-fiction reviews, many of them published in the Irish Examiner, a daily national newspaper in Ireland. I work as crime and drugs reporter there, and have been since around 2001. Both my personal life and my professional life have fed into my novel, or, rather, have been poured into it. My novel was granted a literature bursary by the Irish Arts Council in September 2014 and my journalistic work has won multiple awards from the Law Society of Ireland over many years, most recently in 2015.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Vorsprung durch Technik

  1. Well spotted Cormac. Our lords and masters will be well looked after while they are here. My only question is, do we call this new Audi auto-shade Fascistii Black?

  2. CJ O'Keeffe says:

    Thanks L. What I really wanted to do was drive away with one.

Leave a Reply

