Back on track

My God, it’s five weeks and more since I last posted on my blog.

That’s bad enough, but what’s worse is that it reflects how little work I’ve done on my novel. I did a small amount for my last reading at the Crime Fiction writers’ meeting back in mid Feb. But that has been it. I could cite the usual reasons of family life, sick kids, workload and the small matter of will I even have a job for long, but I won’t (I know, I just did).

It’s good to be back. Not making progress is deeply frustrating. It constantly gnaws at me. On top of that I’ve had a long running problem with a plot development. I had changed my original idea and worked at building up an alernative. I knew in the back of my mind there were serious flaws with it, so now I’ve decided to change it back to a modified version of the original. While I’ll have to write several new chapters and tweak others, I feel lighter this morning.

Since the new year I have laid out the running order of my chapters (they hadn’t been in order before now, at least not for the first half). I am doing an initial read through, putting in changes and some light rewriting. When I’m finished doing that I will go back and write in several new chapters, a couple at the beginning and the ones I just mentioned. Then the serious rewriting will begin!

Anyway, I’m back on track. Again.

About Cormac O'Keeffe

I am writing my first novel. It's a crime novel, a thriller set in Dublin's gangland, along the evocative Grand Canal. This blog is about my journey. And other things, like fiction reviews and non-fiction reviews, many of them published in the Irish Examiner, a daily national newspaper in Ireland. I work as crime and drugs reporter there, and have been since around 2001. Both my personal life and my professional life have fed into my novel, or, rather, have poured into it. My novel was granted a literature bursary by the Irish Arts Council in September 2014 and my journalistic work has won multiple awards from the Law Society of Ireland over many years, most recently in 2015.
This entry was posted in My Novel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Back on track

  1. jjtoner says:

    Welcome back. Here’s hoping the newspaper keeps going for a few more years.

  2. Welcome back! Sounds like a good plan. And good luck with everything. L

  3. CJ O'Keeffe says:

    Thanks for the encouraging words, as always, lads

  4. Susan Condon says:

    You’re making me feel better to know I’m not the only one to find life (much as we love it!) butting in to my writing – that guilty feeling when I’m not writing or editing gnaws at me constantly too! But we’re getting there – and meeting up with other writers with published books and upcoming movie deals is the best way to spur us on 🙂

  5. CJ O'Keeffe says:

    True Susan. I feel myself getting increasingly frustrated and narky at wanting and needing to write but not being able to. This must be why most writers are half mad! Yeah, meeting the others is good and helps us to see what we need to do to make our writing better

Leave a Reply

