Getting Published (Not me, someone I know)

It’s a nice feeling going to a book launch involving someone you know. It’s great, obviously, for the person concerned, seeing the joy on their face. But it’s also an inspiration for those of us still in the trenches. It shows there are people out there, like you and me, who do it – actually get a book published. Now’s the time (I’m talking to myself now) to stop moaning about not having, ahem, the time and just do it.

Summer triangle

So, it was a very enjoyable night at the launch of Summer Triangle by Carolann Copland (published by Emu ink) last Tuesday. It was held at her lovely home/come-writers-centre, set in a stunning location in the Dublin mountains http://www.carousel-creates.com/ and launched by Irish crime fiction author Louise Phillips.

The Crime Fiction Group has held its meetings here in recent times. Carolann is a graceful guest, an encouraging critic and a gifted writer. She has read a number of scenes from this novel at the meetings and it combines a literary talent with a political, and original, storyline.

The blurb starts thus: Shona and Majid are living very different, but ordinary, lives on opposite sides of the globe, when both their worlds are shattered. Majid, who witnesses the death of his fiancé, a bomb victim at an Irish/Saudi festival, is so distraught he runs from his problems – right into the arms of Islamic fundamentalists….

Sounds intriguing. For more see http://www.emuink.ie/synopsis.php?b=103

About Cormac O'Keeffe

I am writing my first novel. It's a crime novel, a thriller set in Dublin's gangland, along the evocative Grand Canal. This blog is about that bumpy journey. And other things, like fiction reviews and non-fiction reviews, many of them published in the Irish Examiner, a daily national newspaper in Ireland. I work as crime and drugs reporter there, and have been since around 2001. Both my personal life and my professional life have fed into my novel, or, rather, have been poured into it. My novel was granted a literature bursary by the Irish Arts Council in September 2014 and my journalistic work has won multiple awards from the Law Society of Ireland over many years, most recently in 2015.
This entry was posted in My Novel, Writing Advice and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Getting Published (Not me, someone I know)

  1. Thank you, Cormac for your kind words! I’m still buzzing and smiling from ear to ear!

Leave a Reply

