No more excuses

That’s it. No more excuses. Finish this novel and send it out by year’s end.

Given my last post was mid May, you might wonder what have I been doing. I have asked myself the same question, but just get hmms and ahhs.

Pintrest BookI do have a good excuse, though. The kids. Off school. Rampaging and pillaging for two months solid.

School has restarted (hurray!) and they are back in State care now. So no one to blame.

I need to up my game big time: get up early and do a couple of hours before work, say three days a week.

I have recently given four people – a detective, a drug worker and two journalistic colleagues – the first half of the novel.

My next stage now is to go through my notes. I have more than 120 pages of notes typed up from my notepads I carry around. They contain everything from ideas and changes about my novel – regarding the characters or the plot, etc – as well as incidents, colour that would enrich it. I am finishing going through the notes and identifying where in the novel they go could go in.

Soon, I’ll start doing the actual changes. The more I look at them, the more I realise there are quite a lot of alterations. This, of course, can be tricky, with ripple effects throughout the novel.

Once this process is done and taking into account possible recommendations, I will then set about a last draft and edit.

Then, print the baby out for a final, final proofread and check.

That’s the plan.

No excuses..

About Cormac O'Keeffe

I am writing my first novel. It's a crime novel, a thriller set in Dublin's gangland, along the evocative Grand Canal. This blog is about that bumpy journey. And other things, like fiction reviews and non-fiction reviews, many of them published in the Irish Examiner, a daily national newspaper in Ireland. I work as crime and drugs reporter there, and have been since around 2001. Both my personal life and my professional life have fed into my novel, or, rather, have been poured into it. My novel was granted a literature bursary by the Irish Arts Council in September 2014 and my journalistic work has won multiple awards from the Law Society of Ireland over many years, most recently in 2015.
This entry was posted in My Novel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to No more excuses

  1. Susan Condon says:

    Sounds like a great plan, Cormac – now go for it! Believe it or not, I’m chasing at your heels – two people have read my entire manuscript and I too am trawling through scribbled notes on my eReader, notebooks and the manuscript so that I can tweak this final edit and ensure that everything is as it should be. Best of luck – I’m watching you!

  2. Conor Cullen says:

    You’ll be flying it once you get back in a routine. Best of luck, Cormac.

Leave a Reply

